Inspiring Weekend

chapel on the hill at Mo Ranch.  Hunt, Texas

Chapel on the Hill at Mo Ranch. Hunt, Texas.

What is it that stimulates your thinking and causes your spirit to soar?  Being close to nature does it for me!

This past weekend my husband and I attended the annual retreat for all ages, held at Mo Ranch in Hunt, TX and  led by University Presbyterian Church in Austin, TX.  Those with walkers mingle with those in diapers and everyone else in-between, which, in itself, is inspiring.  Even though we always have stimulating classes for the various age groups, the scenery is so spectacular that we could just stare at the landscape and listen to the birds and water together for two days.  It is not too hard to worship the creator of all when looking down on this scene.

One of my readers loves Mo Ranch as much as I do- I have a commission to make a small acrylic painting of this landscape, minus the people. I captured plenty of photos for inspiration this weekend.  The Mo Ranch-inspired painting which had first attracted attention was this one:

swimmers in the Guadalupe river painting by Lynn Bridge

North Fork of the Guadalupe at the Tubs

4 5/8″ x 6 3/8″. Copyright 2010 by Lynn Bridge.

The beautiful north fork of the Guadalupe River sometimes runs over limestone shallows, which are then hollowed out by the water into bowls.  Perfect for a soak on a hot day!

This weekend I was able to finish reading the book Talent is Overrated by Geoff Colvin, and as promised I WILL report to you about it on this blog.

By the way, if you have visited this blog before and you remember my old look, please tell me what you think about my new page design!  I want to hear from you.  We have a ‘visual update’ assignment in our month-long blog class taught by Cynthia Morris and Alyson Stanfield, and this new look is the result of today’s homework.