The Uplift Tribe

Hmmmm…. need to find a place at church to display these.  After all, the models were all gathered for Tuesday morning UPLIFT when I approached each one to model for my pencil and my camera.

UPLIFT- University Presbyterians Living In Faith Together.  Need workboots?  We have the coupons for them.  Need a weekly bus pass for job-shopping?  We have about 15 to give away each week.  Just out of prison and trying to stay out of trouble and make a new life?  We help you get the ID and the birth certificate you need to get a job.  Oh, and did I mention there is coffee and breakfast?  And so much more.  Including respect.  So, yes, these portraits belong somewhere close to the action.

Each one is made from glass I fuse in my kiln.  The faces are hand-drawn with glass powder, then fused.   I like making portraits from glass because the glass seems precious and breakable, all at the same time, just like real people.

fine art mosaic portrait by Lynn Bridge

Sam

fine art mosaic portrait by Lynn Bridge

Omar

fine art mosaic portrait by Lynn Bridge

Miguel

fine art mosaic portrait by Lynn Bridge

Mel

mosaic portrait by Lynn Bridge

Los Ybarra

Mosaic portrait by Lynn Bridge

Jamal

mosaic art portrait by Lynn Bridge

John

mosaic art portrait by Lynn Bridge

Joann

My next portrait project will be a fused glass self-portrait.

