Fishy

Seafood

Seafood

For those who have seen the picture of my last mosaic piece, “Seafood”, and have wondered what in the world was going through my mind when I made it, here is the best explanation I can offer.  One day, when I was already working on two other mosaics, I had taken a break to eat lunch.  While I was eating, a vision of pointy little tesserae in ocean-floor colors formed in my mind.  After lunch, I made the necessary preparations for creating the work, and I finished in just a few hours.  In the back of my mind lurked those daily warnings we get about the toxic nature of our food chain in which seafood figures prominently.  Also, I was considering cuisine around the world, all of which contains some elements that other people do not consider food at all.  I was thinking about funny-looking prickly and slimy and crunchy things which are eaten with fingers or forks or chopsticks.  I was thinking about where they had come from in the first place.  I put all these ideas onto a piece of chipped china to make a new piece of art which amuses and disgusts.

So, what do you think about while you’re eating your sandwich?

